Marie Lavender stops by to chat old flames and a new book!

When I first got signed with Solstice Publishing, and joined the author’s group, I had no idea what I was doing. Multi-genre and amazing writer, Marie Lavender offered to interview me (or actually one of my characters) on her site. It was the first time I really felt ‘out there’ in the public eye. I will always appreciate her support. Okay, enough of the mush, let’s get to talking to Marie.Hello there Marie, it’s so great having you here! What is the name of your newest book?   Second Chance Heart     Second Chance Heart - final cover

To tease you with her talent, here’s a blurb for Second Chance Heart

After a wild storm forces her to take shelter in a small town inn, Dana Nelson thinks that all she has to worry about is a brief stay before she heads back to the city. She gets far more than she bargained for…

The last thing she expects is to run into an old flame, and even worse, the man who broke her heart twelve years ago. She’s sure that the only thing remaining between them is a strong attraction for another.

She can’t be more wrong…

The more time she spends with Vince Reynolds, the more she begins to believe she can trust him again. But, can she put her faith in the one man who captivates her, body and soul, or are some wounds too deep to heal?

I’m a fan of second chances, especially those that involve the heart!

Is it published, a WIP, or pending publishing? Second Chance Heart comes out on October 19thRight in the midst of all the Halloween season. Perfect time to curl up with a good book.

So, what is Second Chance Heart about? The book is about our regrets and asking ourselves if forgiveness is possible.

What was the inspiration for this book? I guess the idea just came to me one day. I took the ‘running into your ex’ idea and the story just formed on its own. Wow, I can see where that can go extremely liberating, or very awkward. We’ll have to read it to know for sure!

Do you have a favorite ‘go to’ line or quote that inspires you? I have a couple. One is by Ray Bradbury: ​”You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” The other is related to romance. It’s a great quote by Ana Alas: “A true man does not need to romance a different girl every night; a true man romances the same girl for the rest of her life.” I find both to be quite inspirational in my writing.

Both are great quotes. One about not giving up your passion, and one that is the epitome of what we want in romance.

What is one thing people may not know about you that you can share? I love to color my hair, mostly in shades of red, but I’m mustering up the courage to try something different, like purple. May I suggest a lovely hue of lavender (yes, I went there!) I bet it would look great on you!

mariealternate

OK, now for the fun questions!

If Hollywood cast your book into a movie, who would you see as your ‘dream’ cast of, and for which characters? Wow, great question! For Second Chance Heart, I would choose the following. For Dana Nelson’s character, I might cast Deborah Ann Woll because of the flame red hair and those soulful blue eyes. For Vince Reynold’s character, I think I’d choose Taylor Kinney. For Dana’s parents, Maggie and Brandon, I might cast Julianne Moore and perhaps Tom Hanks.

Ok, that sounds like PERFECT casting! Good choices!

 Deborah Ann Woll  Taylor Kinney

Hollywood, are you listening?!

Do you listen to music while you write? If yes, who inspires you? Yes, I do listen to music sometimes while I’m writing. Pandora is my savior! I listen to OneRepublic, Owl City, Ellie Goulding, Christina Perri, Sara Bareilles, Colbie Caillat, Paramore, Fireflight and so many more. Sidebar: Do you dance? Oh, no. I don’t have rhythm. But sometimes I just dance for fun, even though I know I’m not good. LOL!

Yes! That is what I want to hear. Dance like no one is watching! Great taste in music too!girl happy dance emoticonDance, Marie, dance!!

What is your guilty pleasure? (something you are passionate, or a nerd about) Besides books? Yeah, I actually have quite a library in my bedroom. I’m a bit of a book nerd. I’m also a fan of hot pink so if I can manage to find something in hot pink, it is so exciting!   

Hot pink, duly noted!   (dancing gal is wearing hot pink!)

Where can people find your books Marie? You can find them on Amazon, CreateSpace, Barnes & Noble or Smashwords. Or, for a direct link, you can find my entire list of 22 books as well as their purchase links on my website at http://marielavender.com/about/my-books/

SCHpromo4

Thank you Marie for stopping by. Here’s to hot pink, Hollywood, dancing and a Second Chance Heart!

One thought on “Marie Lavender stops by to chat old flames and a new book!

Leave a Reply

