Geeking out over Julie Anne Lindsey

Hey everyone, look who stopped into my world today? Oops, you can’t see her can you? Ok, author who I am a big fan of, will you please introduce yourself?

         Hi! I’m Julie Anne Lindsey

Yep, that’s right. Julie Anne Lindsey is here! In Raegyn’s World! I’m happily geeking out over here! (Collecting self to appear ultra cool & collected)

So Julie, what is the name of your book? My most recent release is A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder, book one in my new cozy mystery series, The Geek Girl Mysteries

 

GEEK-GIRL_murder_ROUGHS_3

Awesome! Is it published, a WIP, or pending publishing? A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder released August 31st. I have a YA, Goddess, coming October 13th, so I have one of both right now.

A Geek and a Goddess! Yes! Can we talk about A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder? What is it about? This is from the back cover (those back cover writers are so much better at this than I am!) Wait, there are writers for those, now I learn this!

IT manager Mia Connors is up to her tortoiseshell glasses in technical drama when a glitch in the Horseshoe Falls email system disrupts security and sends errant messages to residents of the gated community. The snafu’s timing couldn’t be worse—Renaissance Faire season is in full swing and Mia’s family’s business relies on her presence.

Mia doesn’t have time to hunt down a computer hacker. Her best friend has disappeared, and she finds another of her friends murdered—in her office. When the hunky new head of Horseshoe Falls security identifies Mia as the prime suspect, her anxiety level registers on the Richter scale.

Eager to clear her name, Mia moves into action to locate her missing buddy and find out who killed their friend. But her quick tongue gets her into trouble with more than the new head of security. When Mia begins receiving threats, the killer makes it clear that he’s closer than she’d ever imagined.

This sounds like a lot of good geeky mayhem! Computer hacking, murder, and renaissance-check! What was the inspiration for this book?

My daughter. I get frustrated with geeky girls getting labeled as “wannabes” because they’re gamers or cosplayers or nerds. Why can’t a girl just be who she is? Also, geeky girls are too often portrayed as super dorky like the female smarties in Big Bang Theory (which I LOVE – but I’m just saying). Girls can be smart AND feminine AND like things like Comics and Renaissance Faires without having a unibrow and wearing orthopedic Mary Janes. When it comes down to it, geeky girls are just regular girls with interests that don’t fit someone else’s idea of cool. I made my geeky girl a kick ass hero.

Yes! (Jumping up & down fist-pumping the air). I’m a nerd myself and proud of it! Love that you gave the geek girl a voice!

What is one thing people may not know about you that you can share? Hmm. I kind of share everything, so I’m not sure how to answer this one. Oh! Okay, here’s a new development. I’ve contacted my kids’ elementary school to offer to come dressed at Alice in Wonderland in celebration of my favorite story’s 150th anniversary. I want to read the shorter, Golden Book, version to the classes and hostess a tea party with apple juice and tiny sandwiches. I’m hoping they let me come!

How fun! They HAVE to let you come! That is so original & educational. If you do, please post pictures!! OK, now for the fun questions! (Not that they weren’t before, but you know, let’s get to it!)

So Julie Anne, if Hollywood cast your book into a movie, who would you see as your ‘dream’ cast of, and for which characters?

Oh, boy. I don’t even know. I can tell you the inspiration for Mia, my geeky heroine, was Felicia Day in Supernatural for personality and Zoe Deschanel in New Girl for appearance. Since I’m dreaming, let’s make Tom Hiddleston her BFF, Nate. I’m obsessed with Stephen Amell’s face, so he can be the hero, Jake Archer. Hey, that was fun!

You just said two very magical words. Tom Hiddleston. If you are a Hiddlestoner, that kind of makes us Hiddlesisters! (Just saying!) 😉

 (Credit: Fanpop.com)

Do you listen to music while you write? If yes, who inspires you? Sidebar: Do you dance?

No. I can’t. My brain gets split between lyrics and manuscript words and it hurts. I save music for housework, tread milling and waiting on my kids at carpool and practices.

I’m a dancing nerd! Hang with me long enough, I’ll get you dancing!

dancing smiley emoticon

What is your guilty pleasure? (something you are passionate, or a nerd about) I geek a bunch of TV shows HARD. (The Flash, Arrow, Daredevil, Castle, Teen Wolf, Outlander, The 100, The Originals, Vampire Diaries, Awkward, Supernatural, The Walking Dead, and now, Fear the Walking Dead…to name a few LOL!) I’m involved in so many ships and fandoms. It’s ridiculous. It kills me to wait a week in between so I know what will happen next. Those characters are very real to me, and I worry about them! Seriously. I do.

Yes! You are a proper nerd! (Another display of nerdy girl excitement!) I checked off all but Outlander (on my list though), and Walking Dead-not ready yet.

Julie Anne, where can people find your books? My books are all available anywhere digital books are sold. Some come with your monthly Harlequin book club delivery 😉

This has been so much fun! We learned that Geek Girls can kick ass, you can’t dance (for now) and you are a bonafide nerd! You have a fan in me! Thank you Julie Anne for stopping by today! (Please come back soon!)

A Geek Girl’s Guide to Murder-The Geek Girl Mysteries Book 1

For those not familiar, (how is that possible?), here’s a bit……….

About Julie:

Julie Anne Lindsey is a multi-genre author who writes the stories that keep her up at night. She’s a self-proclaimed nerd with a penchant for words and proclivity for fun. Julie lives in rural Ohio with her husband and three small children. Today, she hopes to make someone smile. One day she plans to change the world.

Learn About Julie at:

Julieannelindsey.com

Find Me on Facebook!

Tweet Me!!

Read with me on Goodreads

Pin with me on Pinterest

Blogging at Musings from the Slush Pile

Capturing life on Instagram

Leave a Reply

