Getting Crazy with Diana Rubino

Some of my fellow Solstice Publishing authors I’ve been able to come to know over time, and some, like Diana Rubino here are wonderful new acquaintances.

LibraryHeadShotDiana Rubino- Just look at that smile! (and the size of that book!)

Let’s talk to her shall we, and get to know more about Diana and her book,  Still Crazy .

Still CrazyCover

Hello Diana! It is so nice to finally meet you and have you drop by. I want to tease first with a bit about what we can expect from Still Crazy, then we can really chat.

About STILL CRAZY…

Can an obsession continue from beyond the grave?

Obsessed with ex-girlfriend Alyssa Tyler, convinced they’re destined for each other, Clay Lynch stalks, pesters and torments her… he creeps up to her bedroom window, he follows her onto planes, he wrecks her wedding by abducting her. His arrest and prison sentence assure her he’s finally out of her life… until his remains are found in the Arizona desert. On the anniversary of the day they met, she receives a haunting text message. Is he now stalking her from beyond the grave?

Whoa! Diana, this sounds really properly scary! There have been many movies, and even T.V. shows about predatory stalking. It’s unfortunately a frightening real world problem.  I hope it’s ok to ask, but what gave you the idea for this concept?

A very possessive boyfriend I had in college, and a gay friend I became very close to. But I added codependency to the story, to give it another dimension.

I’m sorry you had an experience like that. I sense within Still Crazy, there is action, fear, danger, and hopefully a safe resolution.

As writers, we usually have that one thing, whether it’s a person, place, thing, song or word that inspires us to write, to create, and then share our creations with the world. I’ve been seeing a lot of quotes lately. Do you have a favorite or inspirational quote Diana?

“I am still learning.” -Michelangelo

See, this is why I love asking that question. I love that. What is the point if we’re not willing to still learn? Mine is currently, “Live, Laugh, Love”

We’ve only just met, but I like being a bit nosey sometimes, so here it goes. What is one thing people may NOT know about you Diana that you can share?

It took me 18 years to get my first book publishing contract, in 1999.

Now, THAT is crazy! (pun intended). It goes to show though, that great things happen when we least expect it.

I’m ready now to have some fun, and I hope you don’t mind these next questions! If Hollywood cast your book into a movie, who would you see as your ‘dream’ cast of, and for which characters?

For some reason I see Greg Kinnear as the stalker boyfriend but I’d have to look around a lot more for someone to play the heroine.

I ask because I’m a bit of a cinephile, and love movies made (well) from books. I love Mr. Kinnear. I think he could pull off crazy, stalker, creep-guy Clay! That’s a great creep name by the way, Clay Lynch!

credit: Hotflick.net

Looking a little creepy there Greg!

Some people have a routine they enjoy with a hobby or pastime. For me, I listen to music. Do you listen to music while you write Diana?  Sidebar: So, I’m also a dancing maniac (should revise that as we’re talking about crazies!), but I like to ask my guests also, do you dance?

I need silence to write; music is too distracting. But I love to dance!

Yes, that’s what I was waiting for! ‘We can dance if we want to!’ (if you know the song, sing along!)

funny dancing stickman emoticon

 

Dancing stick man is fun, but also a little weird. Completely appropriate I think.

As you’ll come to learn Diana, I am a sophisticated goofball. I’m a card-carrying nerd of many things, so have to know from you, what is your guilty pleasure? (something you are passionate, or a nerd about)?

Watching shows I grew up with: The Dick Van Dyke Show, The Flintstones, I Love Lucy, Green Acres, The Beverly Hillbillies, Bewitched…and I watch The Price is Right while having breakfast.

That is quality TV entertainment! I have all the jingles for these shows in my head now! Thanks Diana for that!

Greeeeeeeeeeeeen Acres, is the place to be.
Faaaaaaaaaaaaarm livin’ is the life for me.
Land spreadin’ out so far and wide
Keep Manhattan, just give me that countryside.

Enough of me singing (I do apologize. How are your ears!), here is what Diana says about Diana!

My passion for history and travel has taken me to every locale of my books, and short stories, set in Medieval and Renaissance England, Egypt, the Mediterranean, colonial Virginia, New England, and New York. My urban fantasy romance, FAKIN’ IT, won a Top Pick award from Romantic Times. I’m a member of Romance Writers of America, the Richard III Society and the Aaron Burr Association. I live on Cape Cod with my husband Chris. In my spare time, I bicycle, golf, play my piano and devour books of any genre.

In 1989, I took a detour from my usual genre and wrote a thriller about a stalking ex. It was set in the present, then, but over the years I updated and revised it many times.

Now that we know the premise of the story, let’s take a peek at an excerpt from STILL CRAZY:

She brought her car in for servicing the next morning, parking in his lot next to a red and white taxi. Her mechanic called her a little after two. “Your car is ready, Alyssa. Hey, do you know you have a GPS tracking device attached underneath it?”

“What?” She shook her head, baffled. “I have a GPS in the dashboard, but not under the car.”

“Oh, yeah, you do. This is a tracking device. Somebody has a GPS and a dot will flash on the screen to show your exact location, as long as you’re within range. You want me to take it out?”

She instantly knew who this ‘somebody’ was. She felt as if a ton of bricks clobbered her square in the face.

When was Still Crazy published? It was published in April 2015. Congratulations, Diana on your new book. It sounds like it’s a book that makes people stand up and take notice of the world around us more. Where can we find it?

To purchase STILL CRAZY:

Amazon Paperback

Kindle

Solstice Publishing

Book Goodies

Awesome, be sure to check Still Crazy out. How do people contact you Diana?

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

LinkedIn

GooglePlus

Amazon Author Page

My Website

My Blog

This has been a wonderful visit Diana! I’m glad you came by and shared your book with us. Please come back anytime!

Leave a Reply

